Is addition just counting?

Suppose you are given two sets.  One contains 2 items and the other 3.  You form a single set and count them 1 to 5.  This is addition.  What is wrong with this?

Addition from Peano Axioms is consistent with that view, but gives an axiomatic basis for it.  The point of axioms is to have statements in math that lets us make definitions, state theorems and prove the theorems all based on the axioms without adding obvious statements.

Physical counting is not math.  When we take the above approach and ask what is the math version of it, we get methods of defining addition that are within the framework of the Peano Axioms.

We can define S(i,j) as you start at i and then repeat succession j times, S(i,j) is the result.  This definition corresponds to the two sets and just count them definition we started the post with.  We can think of this as taking two head segments from 0 to i and 0 to j and aligning the 0 of the second with the i of the first.  We then get a mapping from 0 to N(i,j) with the N(i,j) corresponding to the translated j.  This works as a pair of number lines.  Take the first number line as 0 to i and put the 0 of the second number line above the i of the first.  Then N(i,j) is under the j of the second number line.

We have to justify the S(i,j) definition using the Recursion Theorem in the Peano Axiom framework.  When we do order first, we can define S(i,j;n) for horizons n from 0 onwards.  We require that i and j are less than or equal to n for each horizon function n.   Where they overlap, the horizon functions are consistent.  We simply append the new addition facts at the end of each horizon to get the next one, copying the rest of the function.  The horizon functions are consistent on the overlaps.   We then take the union of the ordered pairs from each horizon function discarding duplicates.  This gives us the infinite horizon addition function S(i,j).

Want this a bit more slowly with examples?  Buy the book.  Want this stated as theorems with proofs?  Buy the book.

About New Math Done Right

Author of Pre-Algebra New Math Done Right Peano Axioms. A below college level self study book on the Peano Axioms and proofs of the associative and commutative laws of addition. President of Mathematical Finance Company. Provides economic scenario generators to financial institutions.
This entry was posted in Addition as counting, Addition Definitions, Iterated Succession, Number Line, Pair of Number Line Method of Addition, Repeated Succession, Set theory definition of addition. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Is addition just counting?

  1. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended
    up losing many months of hard work due to no back up.
    Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  2. This is also ann accessory that works great in boosting a cell phone’s signal.
    Before retiring one ight not too long ago, my phone was in the red and about to
    die ass it had an extremely low battery.
    It won’t hold its charge as long andd your talk time will be noticeably
    diminished.

  3. I like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  4. Heya superb blog! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work?
    I’ve no expertise in computer prigramming
    but I had bern hopinbg to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any
    recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject however I simply wantedd to ask.
    Kudos!

  5. dijeta says:

    My developer is trying to persuade me to move
    to .net from PHP. I have always diskiked tthe idea because of
    the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type oon several websites
    for about a year andd am worried abvout switching to another platform.
    I have hheard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  6. Hi to every one, it’s genuinely a nice for me to pay a visit this site, it consists of precious Information.

  7. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my oown blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too
    cool!

  8. I like thhe valuable inftormation you supply for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more right here frequently.
    I am quite certain I will learn a lot of neew stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  9. enson haber says:

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this article i thought i could also make comment due to
    this brilliant post.

  10. My family all tthe time say that I am killing my time here at net, except I know I am getting famipiarity
    every day by reading thes ood articles or reviews.

  11. I visit day-to-day somme weeb sites and information sites
    to read posts, except this website presents feature based
    content.

  12. Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site,
    and article is actually fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting
    these types of articles.

  13. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a
    different web page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  14. Andrea says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find most of your
    post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. cann yyou offer
    guest writers to write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or
    elaborating on a few of thee subjects yyou write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

  15. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my
    cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways,
    superb blog!

Leave a Reply

